new here and a composites instructor

Hi, I am new to this forum and I think it is a good one so far.

I instruct composites at a Skills Center in WA State. The students are 16-21 years old that dont have a diploma or GED. The skills center is also available to adults who go through the local community college, but dont get many. This will be the second year and each time it gets better, more materials and projects. We focus on skateboards for the basic laminating instruction with different cores and thicknesses. Then we get into vacuum baggin the lay-up and even resin infusion. Later we get into mold design using the basic hood scoop as the project shape. Make a foam plug and finish it, then make a mold from that, then make a part from that. Good learning experience for the kids who want instant satisfaction and have no patience.

I have had lots of experience in the composites field in the last 20+ years. Everything from boats, car parts, skate/snow boards, commercial/military airplane parts, autoclave/oven cures, wet lay-up to prepregs to thermoplastics. I also do the training program for a advanced composites company in town. Every aspect of new hires to yearly certification of current employees and any updated with new materials or procedures.

Glad to be here and hope to build this with more info and sharing of projects and info to teaching this composites field to the kids who will make it their furure too. Bill

Welcome to the forum and let’s exchange classroom project ideas as I also teach 16 year olds and adults in a free Composites and Plastics Calif. job training program.

I have many local So. Calif. Composites manufacturing companies that support my program with supplies donations and maybe we can swap ideas, suppiles and handouts to make our jobs easier!

Do you have a contact with Boeing in Seattle surplus bldg. as it has been many years ago that I was up there and almost bought out the place? LOL!

Let’s share!