I got a job

I finally got my first real professional job! As many of you know I’ve been a student for the past few years.

The reason I’m announcing it though has to do with its effect on this site.

As a student I was able to check on this site frequently since I was only required to be in class maybe 16 hours a week maximum. I also got frequent weeklong breaks, every 11 weeks.

A professional job is much more time intensive as many of you know. I’m going to continue to make a full faith effort to keep this site up and running smoothly while I make this life transition.

Also the wiki may roll out slower than I expected since now I need to focus on excelling at work

More than ever I encourage all of you to send me feedback or suggestions for the site. It’ll help me spend more time fixing errors than looking for them!

Thank you all so much for all the tips, the help and the great community!

First off…CONGRATS on the J.O.B. Canyon…very nice !

Did you get in a field that is Composites related ? That would be cool for you.

Actually that’s the only misgiving I have about the job. It’s rigging solutions for oil drilling so it’s all metals. The interviewer asked me specifically “I see you have a lot of composites experience, do you mind working with dumb metals?”

Doesn’t matter to me though. With the money I get from this job I can finally afford to get a new pump and test out some new materials!! :smiley:

Congrats. /

Congrats!!!

Well done and congratulations on your job. The oil and gas E&P sectors can offer lots of opportunities its a good sector to get a start in. Perhaps you will come up for a novel solution to drilling while H2s gas is present its highly toxic and extreamly corrosive to the metals in the drill strings. Now a composite corrosion proof drill string or pipe outer liner could be a real winner. Food for thought.

congrats canyon!

Congrats, Canyon.