First attempt at a "V" Joint using Infusion

Hi, This is my first attempt at a “V” joint on a Rear Wing using Infusion. It certainly isn’t perfect but I have learnt a lot in the process.:):slight_smile:
Sorry for the poor quality pictures.

Regards Warren

Looks good!
Can you give us a bit of detail on how you made the part?

Hi, the wing is made using a two piece mould (upper and lower profiles) The stack is 2/2 Twill - Plain Weave - 2mm Soric - Plain Weave.
Once both halves have been Infused I bond in strengthening ribs every 100mm. Then trim the two halves and then bond them together with expanding foam.

Regards Warren

looks great, what technique did you use to get the V mated like that?

I always use a clear UV resilient gelcoat for any parts that will be exposed to the sun for potentially long periods of time. Normally I would let the gelcoat cure. This time I waited until the gelcoat was tacky, I then laid down the first layer of cloth, using the gelcoat like a spray tack. I could lift and re lay the cloth until I was happy with the alignment. I then just continued with my usual infusion stack. To cut the cloth I put a strip of masking tape along the back edge of each piece, overlapped the two edges and then cut through both layers at the same time. Hope my explanation makes sense.:slight_smile:

Warren

After cutting the V-joint in the cloth how did you get the tape off the cloth without messing up the weave? Or do you leave the tape on the carbon?

I used 1/4" masking tape, so when the two edges had been aligned and cut there was only about 1/8" of tape on the back which I left on.

Warren,
Thank you for sharing your technique really helps out newbies like me.
Erick

Hi Erick, no problem. Glad I could help.

Warren

great, thanks,