bang for the buck sandpaper

What’s the cheapest sandpaper in bulk that still lasts a long time?

What style do you like for composite hand sanding? On a roll, in sheets, etc?

Normally I use the cheap stuff but it breaks down fast, especially with wet sanding.

3m or Mirka for sure. It’s not cheap, but it just lasts so much longer. Which is more important than you realise with sandpaper. As soon as you lose the bite and have to start pushing to get the same cut, that’s when you start digging in and mess up your surface.

Totally agree. Sandpaper isn’t a place to skimp. Festool is also very good but a bit more expensive than Mirka or 3M.

I do composites for a living and the sandpaper I use is the kind with sticky backside big sheets 12x18 for floor sanding , get it from home depot but its stored in the tool rental section not with the regular sand papers, its the most expensive sandpaper and the best bang for the buck

Thanks for the advice. The best stuff at HD is always with the contractor supplies instead of the homeowners stuff. For example, you can get a huge roll of duct tape in, wait for it, the HVAC duct section. It’s better quality and way cheaper than the stuff up front in the paint section.

I am curious, are you guys finding sand-paper that really lasts a long time when used on carbon fiber?

Maybe it’s because I wet sand but no sand paper ever seems to last long for me.

I use metal files for any shaping and rough sanding and after going through a lot of expensive 3m sandpaper very quickly, I ditched it and just bought a bunch of cheap smooth sandpaper packs off eBay.

I got a pack of 70 sheets for $12 last time which went from 350 up to 2000. It doesn’t last as long as 3m stuff but the difference is not that big. I just use a fresh piece for each job and it’s so much cheaper that it still works out more cost effective for my work.

Maybe I’m doing something wrong…

It’s relative. What would you consider a long time?