Tint Infusion Epoxy?

I am going to be infusing multiple layers of Kevlar in a female mold to make a 1 meter long racing RC sailboat. Because low weight In this boat’s class is critical (grams count at this scale) I do not want to paint the part, but I would like to have the hull a different color from the other natural Kevlar hulls as a visual aid to help pick out my boat on a crowded starting line.

Can you tint or color infusion epoxy and if so what is the best product to use?

SS//

You can use pigment, but I doubt it wil be a solid color. I have no experience with this but it seems that you need to apply some glas in front of the kevlar to get a good color saturation.

You can just use epoxy pigment but like the others say it will be a translucent colour.

I have infused coloured epoxy resins with fglass and soric and it looks great having the white soric core to make the colour quite bright.

With a little more digging I found that Fiberglast carries a pigment that will provide opaque colors to epoxy and PE resins. It comes in white, black, yellow, red and a light blue. http://www.fibreglast.com/category/pigments I had anticipated that I would only be able to tint the resin, but it looks like when mixed at about 6% it actually provides opaque colors, which is just what I wanted.

However, I was concerned that it would increase the viscosity of my 250 cps resin too much for infusion so I emailed their tech support. Here is what I asked and what they said:

Can your epoxy pigments be used to color low viscosity resin infusion resin? I am concerned that it will raise the viscosity to the point it will interfere with the infusion process

Our Pigments work with Epoxy, Vinyl Ester, or Polyester resin types.
We have customer using resins as thick as ~1,000 cps in an infusion application…and some as low as 275 cps.