How to project templates of carbon fiber for complicated surface?

Hello,

I’m studying on technical university and my job is to project (to model) the way the carbon fiber has to be put in mould which will be the negative of car body. In brief, my work will be used to create a body of a car of composites.

The problem is that the car body must be made of aerodynamic ,continuous shapes (no low-radius edges) so when the composite will be put then the unwanted folds may appear or that fiber will have to be cut in some places. I have no such an opportunity to make mould first and then put fiber on it as a test and given this, determine the way the templates should look like experimentally . I have to do it the other way round- I have to predict the shape of these templates given the 3d cad model of car body first.

So I would like to know are there any books, articles, methods etc, which tell how to cut that carbon templates for a given surface? Maybe there some graphics which say how to determine the shape of these templates or software(I could import 3d model there)?

Thank you,

Might not help, but CATIA has composite analysis and ply design. it will take the mold surface, and create a flat pattern (actually, I would think many graphics programs would do this)…but it can also drape fabric, and show you where there will be wrinkles, or too much shear.

Now, if you HAD the mold… :slight_smile:

CATIA sounds so good…
But if I read correctly you don’t need actual moulds, just the digital negative surfaces, wich is not that hard to draft.

Rhino can flatten a surface, but only to a certain degree.
Some mathematic magic and Grasshopper in rhino can maybe be used to calculate drapable(as to the composite weave properties) offsets to flatten.

no low-radius edges

hahahahaha, the designer at the car company I worked for had no problem to let me do sub 1 mm radii. Took some time to figure it out for me. Caused a lot of complaining to him…