Help require for a frp factory setup

Hello members,

I am a new member and have a lot of questions for the experts to help me :slight_smile: I hope you’ll be willing to help me.

To start with, I am new to fiberglassing. I am into custom automobile parts business and have been getting FRP parts from a supplier but due to bad quality I am thinking of setting up a facility myself. There are companies who do good quality stuff but they require big quantities and initial investment is very high to cover up their setup expenses which I can not afford or going to make profits that much for me as this is a small scale business.

Few of my questions are:

1. When I get parts from my current supplier, inside of the part is sticky. Why is is sticky? I hate it.

2. We’ll be doing body parts i.e. tanks, fairings, fenders etc. for custom motorcycles which requires smooth finish and at the same time good strength to handle an impact incase of an accident. Some parts are curvy as well. What do you suggest in terms of material i.e. fiberglass mat of what weight, woven roving, weave, strand direction for curvy items, combination of lay-ups etc.

3. What’s the strongest resin for the same which provides high quality, good strength, are non-shrinkable, heat/sunlight resistant and fast curing at the same time not too expensive. I ready Vinyl-ester should be good for this job. Is it strong enough? How do I get this kind of strength. Check the following video:
    Https://www.facebook.com/topshopbaggerproducts/videos/1425527080833588/

4. I want my parts to look beautiful inside out. I personally like the woven rowing pattern. Is it good to use this throughout the build or shall I use this as the outer layer for finishing? Check links given below.

5. I have seen some resins which leaves the inner side of the part in greenish see-through color. Is it the pigment? They say they use HEXIUM resin. What’s that? Have a look at the links given below: